On Dec.15, 2022, the UBC Department of Ophthalmology in Vancouver inaugurated the presentation of the annual Dr. Paul Dubord Memorial Award. The award was given to a member of the faculty who had exhibited excellence advancing the UBC Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences academic mission.

Dr. Dubord embodied and lived this mission throughout his career at UBC. His tireless work to train corneal specialists and advance eye banking around the world also inspired future Ophthalmologists to become involved globally.

Dr. Pierre Faber was selected to be the first recipient of this prestigious award. He was chosen by anonymous vote by all UBC Department of Ophthalmology members.